it’s all so big.

20 Dec

An issue that I’ve been contemplating for awhile hit me square in the face today, and I was buzzing with angry energy all morning.

But then, at lunch, the topic turned to my favorite subject! People began discussing their religious views; how they see and perceive of God.

I have a secret, pet desire to cultivate a community art project that revolves around our perceptions of God, but I’ll save that for another day.

In the meantime, there’s this quote that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and infinite on the inside.

“I know a woman here in Toronto who is very dear to my heart. […]. Though she has lived in Toronto for over thirty years, her French-speaking mind still slips on occasion on the understanding of English sounds. And so, when she first heard of Hare Krishnas, she didn’t hear right. She heard “Hairless Christians”, and that is what they were to her for many years. When I corrected her, I told her that in fact she was not so wrong; that Hindus, in their capacity for love, are indeed hairless Christians, just as Muslims, in the way they see God in everything, are bearded Hindus, and Christians, in their devotion to God, are hat-wearing Muslims.” (1.16.6)

Life of Pi, by Yann Martel

 

Leave a Reply

