it was never a forever-job.

19 Jun

“But the wild things cried, “Oh please don’t go – we’ll eat you up – we love you so!”
And Max said, “No!”
The wild things roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws but Max stepped into his private boat and waved goodbye.”
Maurice Sendak

My last day here will be Thursday.
It’s a strange thing, leaving your first real-world-grown-up-job.
I’m not good with goodbyes anyway; I get too nostalgic.

I got comfortable here.
I made some really good friends, I learned a lot about how to navigate the grown-up world, about how there are sometimes no real right and wrong answers, about how important it is to be strong.
I learned about relating to people, about how to choke back empathy, about how to be a little tougher.
I learned about presenting myself well, about character and poise and bravery.
I discovered some things that I love (the legal field!) and some things that I hate (face-to-face marketing!) and some things I still like as much as when I started (graphic design!).
I grew up a lot, here, and moved closer to the Hannah that I am becoming.

Working in an apartment complex is a strange thing.
It’s a bit voyeuristic; I was privy to the insides of peoples homes, and I was privy to their immediate visceral reactions in all things regarding their home.
I felt like I got to know a side of them that was both honest and secret, all at the same time.
I met a lot of characters here, and piled up a lot of stories. I filled up my quote notebook with hilarious quotes from my co-workers, and from residents. I learned about how people think, about the patterns they repeat, about the choices they make.

I felt like part of a community, and I think that’s the part I will miss most.

Leave a Reply

