The one in which Hannah starts explaining.

7 Sep

There are two things that I think are beautiful, are truth, are what I would like to spend my life thinking about.

And they are: theatre, and religion.

I have never felt so at home as I do inside of an empty theatre, and I rarely feel as excited and infinite as I do after talking about, I mean really delving into, religious beliefs and ideas.

I don’t talk about it much because I don’t see how I can pursue either of these arenas professionally, but.

They’re still inside of me, rattling around and making me smile.

A man who I super love and respect (ok, its A, I can’t hide anything!) says that when you find something that you think is really beautiful that you really love like that, it means you’ve found your life’s work.

I don’t have a concise personal theology that I can put easily into words, but I do have a lot of thoughts.

___________________

“A man breaking his journey between one place and another at a third place of no name, character, population or significance, sees a unicorn cross his path and disappear. That in itself is startling, but there are precedents for mystical encounters of various kinds, or to be less extreme, a choice of persuasions to put it down to fancy; until–“My God,” says a second man, “I must be dreaming, I thought I saw a unicorn.” At which point, a dimension is added that makes the experience as alarming as it will ever be. A third witness, you understand, adds no further dimension but only spreads it thinner, and a fourth thinner still, and the more witnesses there are the thinner it gets and the more reasonable it becomes until it is as thin as reality, the name we give to the common experience… “Look, look!” recites the crowd. “A horse with an arrow in its forehead! It must have been mistaken for a deer.”
― Tom Stoppard, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

____

“An infinite question is often destroyed by finite answers. To define everything is to annihilate much that gives us laughter and joy.”
– Madeleine L’Engle, A Circle of Quiet

(You see, because it is all infinite! Huge! To deny the questions, the doubt — to have conceit enough to believe we understand it all —  is to deny that God is divine.)

_____

“Those who believe that they believe in God, but without passion in their hearts, without anguish in mind, without uncertainty, without doubt, without an element of despair even in their consolation, believe only in the God idea, not God Himself.”
― Miguel de Unamuno

____

But, I also agree that:

“We must all pass through the garden of Gethsemane. If Christ played with doubt, so must we. If Christ spent an anguished night in prayer, if He burst out from the Cross, ‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’ then surely we are also permitted doubt. But we must move on. To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.”
― Yann Martel, Life of Pi

__

“If you stumble about believability, what are you living for? Love is hard to believe, ask any lover. Life is hard to believe, ask any scientist. God is hard to believe, ask any believer. What is your problem with hard to believe?”
― Yann Martel, Life of Pi

__

From the documentary “A Life Apart: Hasidism in America”:  “So the Bobover Rebbe told me, he said these words: ‘The world is big, go out…‘”

__

“I was six when I saw everything was God, and my hair stood up, and all that,” Teddy said. “It was on a Sunday, I remember. My sister was only a very tiny child then, and she drank her milk, and all of a sudden I saw that she was God and the milk was God. I mean all she was doing was pouring God into God, if you know what I mean.”
-J.D. Salinger, “Teddy”

__
“Well I found God in a soft woman’s hair
A long days work and a good sittin’ chair
The ups and downs of the treble clef lines
And five miles ago on an interstate sign….”
-the Avett Brothers, “Me and God”

__
The trouble is,’ Teddy said, ‘most people don’t want to see things the way they are. They don’t even want to stop getting born and dying all the time, instead of stopping and staying with God, where it’s really nice.’ He reflected. ‘I never saw such a bunch of apple-eaters,’ he said. He shook his head.”
― J.D. Salinger, Nine Stories

__
“Jesus knew — knew — that we’re carrying the Kingdom of Heaven around with us, inside, where we’re all too goddam stupid and sentimental and unimaginative to look? You have to be a son of God to know that kind of stuff.”
-J.D. Salinger, Franny and Zooey

__
“— but, my God, who besides Jesus really knew which end was up? Nobody. Not Moses. Don’t tell me Moses. He was a nice man, and he kept in beautiful touch with his God, and all that — but that’s exactly the point. He had to keep in touch. Jesus realized there is no separation from God.”
-J.D. Salinger, Franny and Zooey

__
“At/ some point / your relationship / With God / will / become like this: / Next time you meet Him in the forest / Or on a crowded city street / There won’t be anymore / “Leaving.” / That is, / God will climb into / your pocket. / You will simply just take / Yourself / Along!”
-Hafiz

__
“Hindus, in their capacity for love, are indeed, hairless Christians, just as Muslims, in the way they see the God in everything, are bearded Hindus, and Christians, in their devotion to God are hat wearing Muslims.”
-Yann Martel, “Life of Pi”

__
“I/ Have/ Learned/ So much from God/ That I can no longer/ Call/ Myself/ A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, / a Buddhist, a Jew. / The Truth has shared so much of Itself / with me / That I can no longer call myself / A man, a woman, an angel, / Or even a pure/ Soul. / Love has / Befriended Hafiz so completely/ It has turned to ash/  And freed/ Me / Of every concept and image/ my mind has ever known.”
-Hafiz

__
“Seymour once said that all we do our whole lives is go from one little piece of Holy Ground to the next.”
-J.D. Salinger, “Seymour: An Introduction”

__
“You don’t have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body.”
― C.S. Lewis

__
“But courage, child: we are all between the paws of the true Aslan.”
― C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle

Leave a Reply

